Leicester Urban Observatory was established by:

Grant Butterworth, Head of Planning, Leicester City Council;

Robert Harland, Lecturer in Visual Communication, Loughborough University;

Loretta Lees, Professor of Human Geography, University of Leicester;

Neil Stacey, Senior Lecturer in Architecture, De Montfort University.

Other individuals contributing to its formation, early development and ongoing activity include Gavin Brown, Simon Gunn, Nicola Handa, and Justin Webber.